hot chocolate

Hot chocolate is under appreciated. Coffee fuels you up, tea calms you down and all the while, hot chocolate is just hanging there, waiting to be turned into something special. I’m not talking Swiss Miss powder with the mini marshmellows. I’m talking honest-to-goodness hot chocolate.

When I found this recipe for red velvet hot chocolate, I knew I had to try it. In reality, it’s just rich, thick, delicious hot chocolate with red food coloring mixed in, but calling it red velvet just makes it feel more special. Add a topping of homemade whipped cream and well, watch out Swiss Miss.

You’ll need:

  • 4 cups whole milk
  • 1 dash water
  • 3/4 cup  of semi-sweet chocolate chips (I used Ghiradelli)
  • 1 teaspoon red food coloring
  • 1 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 1 tablespoon sugar

Pour the heavy cream and sugar in a stand mixer. Mix on high for 2-3 minutes until it peaks.

In a medium sauce pan, heat the milk over medium heat. Add a splash of water and the chocolate chips, constantly stirring gently. When almost melted, add the red food coloring paste and stir some more. The color should be a deep red, similar to the picture above. When the chocolate chips are all melted, pour the hot chocolate in four mugs and top with the whipped cream.

Enjoy!

 

Tell me what you think!